Nominations open for AbilityNet Tech4Good Awards 2016

Celebrating people who use tech to make the world a better placeNominations are open for the AbilityNet Tech4Good Awards 2016 – our annual showcase for the amazing people who use digital technology to make the world a better place. Entry is free and open to any business, charity, individual or public body with a base in the UK. Winners will be announced at a glittering ceremony hosted by BT in July.

This is the 6th year of the Awards, which are organised by AbilityNet and supported by BT and a host of businesses and charities. The Awards include the AbilityNet Accessibility Award for people who use tech to help disabled people, a Digital Health Award and an award for young people.

Last year’s winners included Raspberry Pi, who won the Judges’ Award for their micro computer and education programme. Open Bionics won the Accessibility Award for using 3D scanning and printing work to reduce the cost of prosthetics for disabled people, and what3words won the BT Ingenious Award for an innovative global address technology.

The Awards were launched at BT Tower on 15 March and featured a brilliant demonstration by Rachel Moat who won IT Volunteer of the Year 2015 for her amazing work with The Seashell Trust, a school for children with complex needs and severe learning difficulties. She is a musician who created customised musical technology that encourages students to interact with their surroundings. Her sound-based games are highly tactile and include musical bowls of spaghetti.

Rachael Moat, IT Volunteer of the Year 2015

Entry is free and open now

More details about all past winners and how to enter can be found at

Entries are open until 6th May and anyone can nominate themselves or someone else in any one of seven categories. Judges include business people, charities, academics and journalists and others with specialist knowledge of how tech is used for social good. This year's categories are:

  • AbilityNet Accessibility Award
  • BT MyDonate Fundraising Award
  • Community Impact Award
  • Digital Health Award
  • Digital Skills Award
  • IT Volunteer of the Year Award
  • Young Pioneer Award

Enter now at